After video writing assignment.

September 30, 2008

self-reflection and assessment: now that you have gotten feedback on your exercise, how are you feeling about both the finished product and the audience response? did you get the kind of response you anticipated? were there any surprises? how can you use this input to improve your next project? what is your final assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of your video? what have you learned about brainstorming, conceptualizing, producing, and presenting your work?

So after I showed my video, I guess I got what I mostly expected. Since halfway through the editing I realized the movie wasn’t going to work with my footage, I had to adjust and shorten up the timing. That in turn ended up confusing some people, but it was a constraint I had to work with. Next time, I will definitely take into account the length it takes to communicate across a concept or idea per film clip, especially when dealing with an extremely short project. I think the end product of the video was alright overall. There were definitely many things I would have liked to change, especially the specific bug shots I had (which were limited) and the tones of other scenes. Definitely need more work on the start and ending, I thought it was alright personally, but some people felt that the end of the clip should have ended like how the clip started. One thing I definitely learned from this project was just how many things you have to take into consideration when filming a shot. I spent a lot of time capturing clips but ended up unable to use them because they were too long. While my point got across, the time constraint prohibited me from using it.

Leave a comment