The Significance of Film Form

September 23, 2008

I’ve always knew there was a semblance of form or structure in films; you can’t tell a story without some organization and relationship interaction. Just how vital it is to film making surprised me. The example given throughout the chapter is a movie I’m rather familiar with; The Wizard of Oz was one of my favorite movies when I was growing up. While the simple parallelisms and contrasts were easily picked up, even by me as a child, there were many underlying plots and actions that I failed to see. Especially involving Toto, something so minor and “trivial” actually ends up being vital to the flow of plot and development of the story as a whole. Usually I focus on the main things, but in actuality it’s the many small minor things that we don’t notice that is actually more important. A lot of other things brought up is almost thought of as common sense to me. Emotions and the ambiance should reflect the events currently unfolding, motivation reflects the character or expected nature of a person, etc. But what you never take into account when watching a movie, you now have to consider carefully when analyzing and producing one yourself. It’s certainly given me a better perspective on how movie making should be processed.

Leave a comment